Nothing in my hand I bring

Nothing in my hand I bring – by Ray Galea

Book Review

In preparation for some recent talks on the 5 Solas of the Reformation, I read Ray Galea’s new book Nothing in my hand I bring (published by Matthias Media). I believe that Galea’s book is a very helpful read for all Protestants in the lead up to the World Catholic Youth Day 2008.

Ray Galea grew up in the Roman Catholic Church. He writes with a love and affection for the church of his childhood, but likewise with a passion for the truths of the Protestant Reformation: Scripture Alone, Faith Alone, Grace Alone, Christ Alone and To the Glory of God Alone. It means that the Roman Catholic reader may actually make it to the end of the book.

“I did not want to assume that just because I was born a Catholic, this was by definition the right choice. I knew I could just as easily have been born a Baptist or a Mormon. So I spent the next six months reading and talking to priests and ministers to find out the differences between Catholics and Protestants. How did each of their teachings compare with the teaching of Jesus and the apostles?”

Galea has a very helpful analysis into the differences between Roman Catholic and Protestant beliefs after such a thorough investigation. His chapter on Mary is particularly insightful. He was able to summarise most of the problems of the Roman Catholic Church by discussing their adoration and response to Mary.

The gospel of Jesus’ finished work on the cross is clearly proclaimed throughout the book, from beginning to end.

Get hold of this book. Read it. Give it away. Start thinking of ways to engage with Roman Catholic and non-religious/irreligious friends alike during the next few months.

Download the first chapter of the book (pdf)

Nothing in my hand…

Nothing in my hand I bring,
simply to thy cross I cling;
naked, come to thee for dress;
helpless, look to thee for grace;
foul, I to the fountain fly;
was me, Saviour; or I die.
Rock of Ages – A M Toplady (1740-1778 )

Soli Deo Gloria.

Dave Miers.

Post originally from dave miers dot com

~ by saturdayev on April 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
